Hackity Hack, 13375p34k & ADD (well mine anyhow)

Posted on January 29, 2007. Filed under: 13375p34k, 192.168.1.101, ADD, Blogging, cartoon, computers, dialect, Education, Google, hackers, hexspeak, insomnia, IRC, jargon, Jokes, language, Learning, leet, Linkage & W(a/o)nderings, Norton, silly, slang, studlycaps, Technology, Wikipedia |

Ok, so my stupid sleep cycles have been FuX0rd for about a week or so. Last night I finally got to bed before 4 am, and here it is (7 am now, been up an hour) the time I’ve mostly been GETTING to bed and I’m awake.

So, to the compy I go, and find that the snafu my Norton was giving me fits with yesterday seems to have miraculously fixed itself. Something w/the config something got something’d and it wouldn’t recognize itself as legit and fully there on my drive and so I was w/out buggy protection. Bad bad bad. Really ticked me off. Was part/most of the way through the recommended fix, got a call from my Pops, got all distracted and bereft of seratonin, so I decided to let it rest till today (that was yesterday early evening), and a fresh set of brain to attempt the fix again.

Ok, so I’m looking through the settings to be sure what looks hunky dory actually is … and I find something I am not sure what it is that I’m looking at (or I’d describe it better, right?) and so I run to google to check it out. In the “log viewer” under “worm protection” > “system” I see this one line over and over at intervals and I’m not really sure what it is about (yet).

Details: Protecting your connection to a newly detected network on adapter “Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection – Packet Scheduler Miniport” (IP address: 192.168.1.101).

Hmmm … wtf is that IP? I drop the number into Google and get a variety of hits. Something I really don’t get about XP metric blahdity blah blah blah and then this one from Cre8asite Forums, which kinda sets my mind at ease but cracks me up even more, esp. when I got to post # 6. The cartoon in # 6 is good and the link below, to the world’s worst hacker in IRC chat is even better. It is a little bit of a long read but to anyone that’s dealt with n00bsauce griefer haxx0rs, it’s a worthy time-waster, as the offender hoists him/herself on their own coaxial petard. My apologies for my mangling of Willie the Shakes.

Then I think, I gotta share this in a blog bit. And then, what to call the entry? Well, as anyone that knows me even a lil bit, I’m NOT a hacker, not a coder (I don’t think html counts really) but I love language and wordplay, so I want to be sure I get my leetspeak right, and google that to arrive at a rather nice, phat (ha!) Wikipedia page on 13375p34k, well leet actually.

Entertaining read, that. Much of the origins and base meanings I’d either guessed at, asked about or even read other’s question & answer sessions, so that was gratifying.  The table in the middle for substitutions and such, well that’s where my brain goes all swimmy but I know it is there if I need it I guess.

Further down the page are some more links to StudlyCaps, Hexspeak, etc. Also interesting in their own lil slangydialectjargon kinda way. Actually those are three words that DON’T get used to describe the use of leet-speak on the page, kinda suprised me. Although there is some discussion of leet not actually being a language,

while it may be referred to as a “cipher,” a “dialect,” or a “language,” Leet does not fit squarely into any of these categories.

I’d’ve termed it a dialect or form of slang. I”m sure someone (you know who you are) can address this issue of definition with some authority.

An hour later I find myself blogging this meandering surf-session, realizing I’ve not finished my Norton reset check, and so this entry is titled as it is!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • More Linkage On del.icio.us

  • RSS Madame Maracas on Plurk

    • MadameMaracas is heartbroken, so terribly devastated, the surgeon, Dr. Alan Yasko, that gave me my brand new knee this winter, died of a pulmonary embolism. August 24, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Happy Birthday MatthewAnthony ! May your day be filled with joy and the coming year only get better, day by day! August 22, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Sorry for the neglect folks, I'm moving to a new facility today, we see what kinda connectivity I have there, if at all. August 20, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Lost connectivity, possibly for an hour or so for the seeming midnight reset. I am fine, full of dilaulid, feeling no pain. no pai August 19, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Getting ready for surgery today, slated to be carved open @ about 11.30am. Pops & Marissa are here taking great care of me. <via phone> August 16, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas you're a big ole pussy cat, need to out go out in a ball love and feeling, generating more with time. August 14, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Been standing up, turning to sit in a chair, short, shuffling steps! NO THIGH PAIN! <via phone> August 12, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Packing room up atm, waiting for transport to surgery w/ Pops & Marissa. Marissa will update here.. <via phone> August 9, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says I have been moved to a different room on the same floor. A single room. ping 4 new # <via phone> August 7, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Guess who just spent an hour out of her room NOT for tests, feeling more normal than in over a month? <via phone> August 6, 2010 MadameMaracas

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

