SLCC 2007, Report From Pre-Convention

Posted on August 22, 2007. Filed under: Chicago, convention, First Life, Real Life, Second Life, SLCC, VR worlds |

Hidey Ho There, Kermit The Frog … wait !! Um … Ok, It’s Madame here and boy are my arms tired … no wait … well it’s not just my arms, it’s all of me that’s exhausted but having a very interesting time!

I’ve had about 4 hours sleep, so right up front, lemme tell ya, that’s only one more hour than last night. My left arm is slightly sunburned, from driving about a 100 miles or so in the previous 24 hours, hanging my appendage out my un-airconditioned car window in typically mid-high 80’s temps with heinously high humidity. Misty’s crashed out behind me on the couch, I’ll be getting her up soon enough for us to start another whirlwind day.

So, the other night (Monday) Misty’s flight got delayed by that lil weather nastiness named Dean. Two hours delayed on takeoff, but she was in my car only an hour and fifty-three minutes later, that pilot did some kick-butt flying! We drove about, showed her a bit of downtown Chicago, picked up a few provisions and headed back to my place to talk way too late and get not enough sleep. hehhehe

Tuesday was run around city, suburbs and city again day. Dropped off the contract for the Thursday night Trolley ride, saw some of my VERY FAVORITE Trolley folks, including my old boss, one of the most charismatic people I’ve ever met. I miss him and my buddies there. Just wish the job was yet the job I loved when I started there, but such is life. Good news, Chris, my across-the-hall in the apartment building IS going to be my driver, heaven! Great news, the 2nd charter I helped book for the rowdies over in the Education Gang, they’ve been given one of the newer drivers I don’t know, but one of my very most beloved rookies (as in folks that I trained when they were newbies/rookies to the job) Emmanuel. A more golden soul there is not, and I know he’ll take care of the Edu crew smoothly.

Then we hopped back into my trusty lil car Zippy and headed up North to my Pops’ to grab our extra special delivery at his house, my *gasp* corset and her body stockings. Her stocking were what they were supposed to be, my corset was 1/2 what it should have been (tooooo small). Great disappointment. Still trying to sort that one out with them, but as far as a real leather-based outfit for the ball, I think I’m S.O.L. Frankly, I’d not expected to get anything like that, so it’s not as big a let-down as one might think. One of the other gals on the crew might be able to make use of the corset, so all may not be lost. We see.

After our third refreshment pit stop, we ravaged a suburban Ace Hardware, got lots of office supply goodness for the convention and had to stop again for more beverages. It felt like 100 degrees some places yesterday. Furnace-like, so in a defensive move, we headed closer to the lake on our southerly meandering trip back home, while scoping out a spot to find Misty some SHEEWOOOZ (shoes). How funny is this? Found them finally in a bitty mall less than a mile from my house, at PayLess. Go figure.

Ok, by now some of the other out-of-towners started to congregate and we began to formulate a plan for the evening’s get together. Misty and I went to the house to clean up, change clothes and do something w/our wind-blown hair. Primped and powdered, we snagged a cab and met the crew at the Hilton for vittles and beverages (many many many many frosty beverages) at Kitty O’Sheas and then The South Loop Club when Kitty’s closed down. In attendance, myself, Misty, Flip, Jennyfur, Nether, Taco, Stroker, Fyre, Alexa and Baccara. True to past experience, meeting SL folks is that “moment of recognition, big grin, and then jump right into it as if one was in-world”. It’s a neat thing. Well, ok there was more hugging and 3-D meatspace hugs do beat the shit outta SL hugs!!

Snagged a cab home and nearly immediately threw ourselves into horizontal pass-out mode.

Oh mind you, I was drinking Tonic water and Lime all night, most of the rest … well … their livers will be bitchin’! Today is going to be at least as busy, gotta meet up w/Stroker and run him up to my Pops’ for a lil quick set construction, then run back to the house, snag Misty and her gear, drop her at the Hilton, run out to O’Hare, get Talila, run her luggage home, go back to O’Hare and snag TriNala and bring them home.

So the adventure continues …

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • More Linkage On del.icio.us

  • RSS Madame Maracas on Plurk

    • MadameMaracas is heartbroken, so terribly devastated, the surgeon, Dr. Alan Yasko, that gave me my brand new knee this winter, died of a pulmonary embolism. August 24, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Happy Birthday MatthewAnthony ! May your day be filled with joy and the coming year only get better, day by day! August 22, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Sorry for the neglect folks, I'm moving to a new facility today, we see what kinda connectivity I have there, if at all. August 20, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Lost connectivity, possibly for an hour or so for the seeming midnight reset. I am fine, full of dilaulid, feeling no pain. no pai August 19, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Getting ready for surgery today, slated to be carved open @ about 11.30am. Pops & Marissa are here taking great care of me. <via phone> August 16, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas you're a big ole pussy cat, need to out go out in a ball love and feeling, generating more with time. August 14, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Been standing up, turning to sit in a chair, short, shuffling steps! NO THIGH PAIN! <via phone> August 12, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Packing room up atm, waiting for transport to surgery w/ Pops & Marissa. Marissa will update here.. <via phone> August 9, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says I have been moved to a different room on the same floor. A single room. ping 4 new # <via phone> August 7, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Guess who just spent an hour out of her room NOT for tests, feeling more normal than in over a month? <via phone> August 6, 2010 MadameMaracas

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

