Valery Salazar – What a find!

Posted on September 18, 2007. Filed under: Blogging, broadcasting, celebrities, clever, computers, convention, DJing, electronic, family, Friends, Linkage & W(a/o)nderings, marketing, metaverse, Music, PR, RadioRadio, Real Life, Second Life, SLCC, utube |

I’m not usually one for pop music, I tend to walk the more weird end of the musical road, despite my Elton John and Pink Floyd addiction, I tend to like their less popular, not commonly known tracks and albums. I’m funny that way. Ok, now that I’ve sufficiently buried the lead, I’ve been introduced to a new addiction, no not Tiny Empires, that’s a different post I guess, no FaceBook.


As much as I’ve become buried under various networking and blogging devices of late, this one is truly fun to use and has yielded some interesting results. Mostly due to my involvement in the organization of SLCC 2007, and other Second Life friends, I’ve added LinkedIn, LiveJournal, MySpace, actually WordPress (here), del.icio.us and Flickr to my list of places I post or can be found. While del.icio.us I don’t really get the appeal of, MySpace seems like blogging for bad web sites from 1996, and LiveJournal is used in general in a too personal manner for my taste.


Flickr, Snapzilla and PhotoBucket are all handy redundant in purpose tools that I end up needing all of them due to the different groups with which I collaborate or access those services. WordPress to me is as Blogger was before, but I like it’s current configuration a bit better than Blogger’s, and as I was collaborating on the SLCC blog through here, it was just easier, sorry Blogger, you were a happy home for many years. LinkedIn is to me the ideal online resume residence. It allows one to present a great deal of what one would prefer to get to say in a preliminary and even secondary interview, all there, in text, for easy review, and all network-able. Damn clever.


FaceBook, what is different about it? It encourages networking, much as LinkedIn and to a lesser extend MySpace do, but in a playful manner and primarily with those you know vs. spamming the heck out of the wider web. The interface is clean, uncluttered and easy to manage. No fixed background scrolling text overlays to break my eyeballs. (yes it can be done there are visual images too garish even for me)


I have my cousins to thank for introducing me to FaceBook. No, that’s not quite accurate they got me to USE it. moo Money certainly had talked about it enough and I’ve certainly seen it mentioned in the press enough. It sounded like an IM tool pasted on top of MySpace, thanks but no. Well that’s not what it is. It is a fun network of those you know and some silly little games that can replace interoffice scrabble games quite handily. Because of the ability to search for folks by topics, geography, employment and education as well as by direct connections through those you know, one can find folks that one has lost contact with pretty easily. Or make random friend connections as well through a shared interest. In a way it’s like Second Life that way, a semi-random internet cocktail party that everyone’s invited to attend.


Ok, back to the lead.


Valery Salazar is a young musician, born in Barranquilla, Colombia, raised in Miami, Florida, and I found her video “El simple placer” on my cousin’s FaceBook page. It’s a tight little pop album and here’s the link to her website (http://www.valery-music.com/). The songs are in Spanish and English, have nice poppy hooks and for the most part a rather upbeat pace. I’m not sure that she’s the next Juanes or Shakira but she’s worth a listen. “Welcome” has a definite dance-able beat and reminds me a bit of sped up Joni Mitchell somehow. “Brainwashed” carries a NIN-like industrial sound with a flat frankness to the lyric that reminds me of Blondie. Frankly, from her bio it sounds like we listen to a lot of the same things and it shows in her work. So I guess if you hate my taste in music, don’t bother, lol.


Oh and two versions of that video can be found on YouTube:.
It’s Been A Pleasure (English version)
El Simple Placer (Spanish version)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Valery Salazar – What a find!”

RSS Feed for Madame Maracas’ Blaaagh Comments RSS Feed

Hello MMB,

Thank you so much for your words and for taking the time to write about my music. I got so excited when I read your blog!!!! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!

Un beso,

Valery


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • More Linkage On del.icio.us

  • RSS Madame Maracas on Plurk

    • MadameMaracas is heartbroken, so terribly devastated, the surgeon, Dr. Alan Yasko, that gave me my brand new knee this winter, died of a pulmonary embolism. August 24, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Happy Birthday MatthewAnthony ! May your day be filled with joy and the coming year only get better, day by day! August 22, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Sorry for the neglect folks, I'm moving to a new facility today, we see what kinda connectivity I have there, if at all. August 20, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Lost connectivity, possibly for an hour or so for the seeming midnight reset. I am fine, full of dilaulid, feeling no pain. no pai August 19, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Getting ready for surgery today, slated to be carved open @ about 11.30am. Pops & Marissa are here taking great care of me. <via phone> August 16, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas you're a big ole pussy cat, need to out go out in a ball love and feeling, generating more with time. August 14, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Been standing up, turning to sit in a chair, short, shuffling steps! NO THIGH PAIN! <via phone> August 12, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Packing room up atm, waiting for transport to surgery w/ Pops & Marissa. Marissa will update here.. <via phone> August 9, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says I have been moved to a different room on the same floor. A single room. ping 4 new # <via phone> August 7, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Guess who just spent an hour out of her room NOT for tests, feeling more normal than in over a month? <via phone> August 6, 2010 MadameMaracas

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

