What’s My Status?

Posted on February 8, 2008. Filed under: Blogging, Chicago, First Life, Real Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

(like anyone other than those who already know me care, but what the hey, it’s my blog ;-P)

Silly stuff:

I heard back from the folks at ManGlaze.com and got my mitts on a sample of their two colors (both matte, with a sorta ground diamond dust bit of sparkle to them, in black and slate grey). I gotta say, the stuff goes on well, dries quickly and so far hasn’t chipped. I’m hell on nail polish, so that’s no small feat (you should see what I do to watches). Showed it to a few of my male buddies and they were suitably impressed, intrigued and amused. I can totally see this going over well in the metrosexual/rocker/goth/artsy male and female crowd. Me, I like weird colored nail polish anyhow. And for a non-bling fashionista, I do like glittery stuff on my nails. It amuses me. So I give them high marks!

Snowy stuff:

I’ve stayed pretty much inside while Chicago’s been deluged with white stuff, wet, heavy, and fluffy dry as well as everything in between. My lovely maintenance man has shoveled and plowed the drive. I watch him bury Zippy under more. I’ll wait for a thaw to dig poor Zippy out. Lil snowy blankie on the car I guess, protects him from squirrel droppings.

Health stuff:

The blood pressure is getting better, I’m not so woozy and feel very much more myself now. I’m moving around, puttering in the apartment and doing some standing and walking now. Yea!

I’m still learning or more accurately re-learning my drinking and eating skills. About once every other day I screw up and up comes my mistake. It’s not as awful as it sounds and I rebound quickly. Let’s just say I’m chewing oatmeal and drinking fluids in tiny, bitty sips as much as I can remember to do so.

Tonight (well last night actually) I went out for my first public civilian meal with RKT, SD, and JSM to celebrate R’s b-day. The guys picked a (we thought Ethiopian, but really pan-African) restaurant called African Harambee that had nice, mildly seasoned, gooshy food, the sweet hearts that they are, so that I’d be safe. None of us had been the the place in it’s current incarnation and we were pleased with the meal.

I had something that was a spinach stew of sorts (supposedly had beef but I didn’t see any, maybe it’s a beef stock) that had chunky carrots which I ignored, and potato hunks too. I had a side of what I think of as white African polenta, think UBER white mashers but with a little more gritty texture, made out of corn meal. Also a side of a spicy lentil mash ( a bit much for my tum-tum, but it tasted great) and some oniony greens that were a bit too roughage-y for my tum yet, but yummy as well.

The guys had a variety of other tasty bits, that nifty, sour dough-y spongey pancake stuff I remember from Momma Desta’s and some lovely Spanish wine JSM brought. (they have a full bar but he wasn’t sure) Oh, African beer? Yes, Tusker beer! Didn’t have any of the beer and wine but I gotta say they both smelled wonderful.

Yes they served us tons of food, well priced, of course. Gotta love Chicago restaurants!

Oh I must mention I was able to wear a pair of pants to this gathering that I’ve NEVER worn before as they were too small, had to cut the tags off. That was a huge milestone. I’ve other outfits and pieces of clothing lying in wait for my transforming shape. I’ll not need to buy much I suspect along the way down, not that I planned it that way but hey, I’ll take advantage of it!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • More Linkage On del.icio.us

  • RSS Madame Maracas on Plurk

    • MadameMaracas is heartbroken, so terribly devastated, the surgeon, Dr. Alan Yasko, that gave me my brand new knee this winter, died of a pulmonary embolism. August 24, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Happy Birthday MatthewAnthony ! May your day be filled with joy and the coming year only get better, day by day! August 22, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Sorry for the neglect folks, I'm moving to a new facility today, we see what kinda connectivity I have there, if at all. August 20, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Lost connectivity, possibly for an hour or so for the seeming midnight reset. I am fine, full of dilaulid, feeling no pain. no pai August 19, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Getting ready for surgery today, slated to be carved open @ about 11.30am. Pops & Marissa are here taking great care of me. <via phone> August 16, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas you're a big ole pussy cat, need to out go out in a ball love and feeling, generating more with time. August 14, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Been standing up, turning to sit in a chair, short, shuffling steps! NO THIGH PAIN! <via phone> August 12, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Packing room up atm, waiting for transport to surgery w/ Pops & Marissa. Marissa will update here.. <via phone> August 9, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says I have been moved to a different room on the same floor. A single room. ping 4 new # <via phone> August 7, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Guess who just spent an hour out of her room NOT for tests, feeling more normal than in over a month? <via phone> August 6, 2010 MadameMaracas

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

