Countdown to Surgery

Posted on February 16, 2009. Filed under: computers, DJing, First Life, Friends, Health, RadioRadio, Real Life, Second Life, voice | Tags: , , , , , , , |

Early this Thursday morning, I”ll make like lobster and be cracked open to repair a congenital defect in my aorta, and replace the subsequent damage to the valve as well. I should be in ICU for about 24 hours, then 4 – 6 more days in the hospital, with an estimated 2 week stay at an aftercare facility across the street from the hospital.

I’ve got a few folks that are gonna be there with me while I’m being operated on, the loan of a laptop upon which I’m writing this post and the support of all of you lovely folks to help me along. Mostly I anticipate the dopey state of the last surgery, where I remember a few moments of the whole thing but mostly I think I stared at the tv without much comprehension. Aaah the joys of hydrocodone & other tasty opiates!

I’m told I’ll have internet connectivity there, and this lappie so I”ll be able to post here, on Plurk, FaceBook, etc. as well as email. I suspect this will keep me from being bored quite nicely. I’ll be on hiatus from DJing while away, so I’ll be tuning in to RadioRadio quite a bit I suspect, to while away the hours and listen to the killer live sets!

As with last year’s surgery, right now I’m preoccupied with preparations, remembering to pack what I need/want, trying to leave the house in decent shape for when I return, that mundane stuff. Again, I really like my surgeon, my cardiologist does too, so that eases a lot of tension. He’s a pro, does this all the time and does the bleeding edge procedures few can. This will all happen at the same hospital that did the gastric bypass, and I’m hoping to see some of the same great folks that took such great care of me last time around.

Those of you in SL, Trinity will have the early reports on how things are going, until I’m out of ICU. Jonathan and Robert are expecting to be there with me that day as well for the rest of you to check in with on Thursday & Friday.

Can’t think of anything else to add here, so that’s it for now. Thanks again to Amanda and Jim for the loaner lappie that’s performing quite nicely!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “Countdown to Surgery”

RSS Feed for Madame Maracas’ Blaaagh Comments RSS Feed

Wishing you lots of luck, and a speedy recovery.
Take care.
*hugs*

Sending you hugs til the next time I see you!

We’ll keep in touch…I won’t keep you awake until 6am again..sorry (lol)

–Foxy

I’ll be thinking of you and sending you my love, you rock!

Patio

hey sweetie. Good luck on your big day. I’ll be thinking of you and praying for a speedy recovery.

I’ll be your spokesperson, amor. ❤

Good luck! I hope you recover quickly from this round of surgery. I’m facing surgery – gastric bypass – in a few months after they figure out what, exactly, is wrong with my heart. I’ve never been under the knife, so I’m a bit scared. If you need to talk, e-mail me at reese@metac0de.com and I’ll send you my number (or you can get it from Steve/Moira/EvilBenFranklin)

Much love! Hang in there!

Reese

Aha! You seem willing to go to extremes just to have a rich guy inside you! Geez, you’re one of those weak willed girls that let your heart dictate who you allow to touch you.

This is my way of saying…good luck!

I’m sorry that I wasn’t aware of this beforehand. Beaming all kinds of good thoughts your way.

P2

sending you the best of wishes.

Ayciel, if it wouldn’t hurt like the dickens to do it, I’d give you the smack upside your head you so love and deserve, you made me laugh you bastard!

Thank you everyone for the well wishes and kind thoughts and laughs (although they hurt), and esp. to Miss Trinn for being such a great communicator for me when I couldn’t at all. Amazing how being intubated slows down the communication process!

I’m up in a private room now, with variable speed WiFi on a lil lappie that frankly is performing WAY beyond what one could reasonably expect of a 1998 vintage ThinkPad. Thanks again to Jim and Amanda for the loaner, I’d still be offline and going out of my gourd as I become more conscious daily w/out a lil posting, plurking and emailing!

I’ve had some lovely visitors here at the hospital, tons of great letters and posts and a bouquet of daisies (other stuff too but mostly daisies and they’re my fav)!

I have a window w/a snowy rooftop view, a bit of sky to see as well, hot and cold running Vicodin (or some such opiate something that makes the pain mostly or completely go away), and OK hospital food. All is getting better w/my lil world.

I guess you could say I”m in a 117 prim 512 but it’s all mine LOL.

I think tomorrow they’ll start the evaluation process (don’t even go there Z I know what you’re thinking), to determine what kinda Amy Winehouse (Rehab) I’m gonna need/get/be subjected to and for how long. As it stands, today we did hallway walkies, apparently a good distance, and I didn’t get woozy so I’m happy about it.

This lil compy needs a lotta rebooting, so if you see me going on and offline that’s what is happening. Also I get interrupted a lot, vampires, constrictors, irradiators & Dr. Mengle types drop in all the time, so please understand. Ok and I’m sometimes doped to the gills LOL.

Your notes and painful (literally now) jokes are wonderful and I really, sincerely appreciate it.

Oh just got a fresh dose of drugs … so … Z … **THWAP**!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • More Linkage On del.icio.us

  • RSS Madame Maracas on Plurk

    • MadameMaracas is heartbroken, so terribly devastated, the surgeon, Dr. Alan Yasko, that gave me my brand new knee this winter, died of a pulmonary embolism. August 24, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Happy Birthday MatthewAnthony ! May your day be filled with joy and the coming year only get better, day by day! August 22, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas Sorry for the neglect folks, I'm moving to a new facility today, we see what kinda connectivity I have there, if at all. August 20, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Lost connectivity, possibly for an hour or so for the seeming midnight reset. I am fine, full of dilaulid, feeling no pain. no pai August 19, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Getting ready for surgery today, slated to be carved open @ about 11.30am. Pops & Marissa are here taking great care of me. <via phone> August 16, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas you're a big ole pussy cat, need to out go out in a ball love and feeling, generating more with time. August 14, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Been standing up, turning to sit in a chair, short, shuffling steps! NO THIGH PAIN! <via phone> August 12, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Packing room up atm, waiting for transport to surgery w/ Pops & Marissa. Marissa will update here.. <via phone> August 9, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says I have been moved to a different room on the same floor. A single room. ping 4 new # <via phone> August 7, 2010 MadameMaracas
    • MadameMaracas says Guess who just spent an hour out of her room NOT for tests, feeling more normal than in over a month? <via phone> August 6, 2010 MadameMaracas

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

